Been gone a while…

I figured since it’s been almost exactly two years since my last post, it’s about time to post about some of the projects I’ve done over the past couple years!!

Here are some pictures of the bumper/sheets/crib skirt that I made a while back for my little guy:

Of course the first problem I have with any project is deciding on fabric…so for this one I didn’t, I just used everything I liked and went for a multi-colored theme, as you can see:

Image

The bumper was striped on the outside and had a pennant pattern on the inside.  I pretty much put it together like a really long and skinny quilt, and used two layers of batting between the layers.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

The pattern for the crib sheet came from Amy Butlers Little Stitches for Little Ones.  It was easy, the only challenging thing about it was measuring and cutting large pieces of fabric.

 Image

And he still likes it:

Image

I like the picture above because #1 – it’s cute, but #2 it also shows off a couple handmade gifts I received from my very creative friends!  They are the chevron blanket from Molly and the knit nesting box on the floor (one of four), handmade by Emily.  And also, here is a pic of a coordinating quilt made by Emily’s mom.  She took my scrap fabric and made this beautiful quilt:

Image

OK, so those projects were done a long time ago.  Now, onto more recent stuff.  I feel a little bad posting some of these because I have a lot of friends who I want to make gifts for (and still plan on doing so).  And while I’d love to devote more of my time to crafting, I also have to work, clean, and sleep!!   Hopefully over time, I’ll catch up on my long list.  In the meantime, here’s what I’ve had the time to do:

These are just some cute cupcakes I made for my friend Erin’s baby shower, she now has adorable twin baby boys!

Image

When making the following quilts, I kind of understood the frustration people sometimes had with me, when I said I didn’t find out the sex of our baby.  It would be so much easier if I just knew!!!  Here are my attempts at ‘gender neutral’ quilts, which always seem to err on the feminine side!   I still love the Jay-Cyn Designs line of fabrics, which I used a lot of.  It a great assortment of colors and patterns – the shades are just right – not too pastel, but not too loud

Image

Image

Image

Image

As you see,  I was on a little bit of a chevron kick last year!!!

Oh and here’s one more…(I copied the quilt Molly gave me, it’s from PurlBee) – picture coming soon

Now back to stripes.  I experimented with hand quilting for the first time.  I wanted prominent stitches so I used full thickness white DMC floss.  I took my inspiration from these quilts from Serena and Lily:

Theirs:

Image

Mine:

Image

For my sister’s wedding, I wanted to make a quilt, but was really pressed for time.  I bought this portable Hello Kitty sewing machine, that I’d heard was great from a good friend, and I actually took it to work for when I was there overnight!!  Probably the best $120 I’ve spent at Target.

Image

It really is great for basic quilt top assembly.  In fact, I made the entire quilt top while on call!!

Image

Along with some other portable gear, I made a traveling craftroom!!

Below is the pattern I made.  It was based on the quilt I pinned about a year ago from craftyblossom.  Her quilts are simple and beautiful, I love quilts made with solids.  I hope to copy her again soon!!Image

Of course, actually quilting it together required the ‘good machine’, so I tried to be productive during nap time on the weekends.  Thank God for Pillow Pets!

Image

Finished product pictures not yet uploaded, coming soon….

For the wedding, I also made neckties for the boy cousins, and the the ring-bearer pillow.  The necktie pattern comes from PurlBee.  It’s a great pattern – pretty easy, and almost exclusively handsewn.   The boys looked adorable!!  They even had matching Toms on their feet!

Image

Image

Next up project wise include the 1000+ ideas I have for the new house.  Plus I am ordering this kit from PurlBee to make your own advent calendar.  Chances are it will be done by December 1st, 2014!

Image

And I am super excited to be doing some bedding for my new nephew, due to arrive in February!!!

November 9, 2013. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

